Home > Poetry, Uncategorized > You will not leave

You will not leave

A poem from my journal.

I believe in a delusion
That I can reach my own conclusion
Living my life by human steam
But finding this is just a dream

I seek out what seems best to me
I worry not about what you see
And in the end I just become
Yet another hopeless blinded one

But you, O God, you placed me first
On Calvary’s hill my shackles burst
From your deep love I cannot hide
You knew one truth: I’m broke inside

By knowing this, your heart was hurt
You reached down to lift me from the dirt
Your boundless grace is where hope lies
And now I see life through new eyes

A rich new hope was in me placed
To see the world saved by your grace
And every day I walk in step
To ease the world of sin’s great debt

I do not know how to prevail
But I can hear dreary souls wail
My heart breaks like yours does also
Yet the people hurt only more so

Help me lord, to rely on you
My conscious will is shattered in two
I want to live by holy light
So give me strength for my fight

By will alone I cannot win
I am still tempted by constant sin
The deception of Hades waits
To lure me in with fresh new baits

Let me know you’re all I need
So I won’t seek any other creed
When fiend comes, let weakness seethe
For from my side you will not leave

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment