Home > Christian > When you feel inadequate

When you feel inadequate

I’ll be honest with you; I don’t exactly feel qualified to be writing this blog. I don’t have any degrees in theology. I’m not some leader at a church. I don’t have everything together in my life. I’m just a UNI student.

Yet for so long I have been driven to talk about the things I am writing here. I’ve had people confirm it for me. I’ve seen how I have talked with people and opened their eyes. I still don’t feel very adequate. For so long I have postponed doing God’s work because I simply don’t believe I am good enough to do it.

You could say it is low self-esteem, but isn’t it really a problem with pride? When God tells me to do something I protest “Look at me… I’m only…” and whilst the “I’m only” shows how I value myself, the “Look at me” reveals my pride. I’m too concerned with me. If I had my eyes on God then when he tells me to do something the last thing I should be doing is talking about myself.

There are people out there who need help; people who are hurting; people who are desperate. You can help them. You might not be perfect; you might not be able to help them as much as so-and-so but you can do something. You can show them you care.

We cannot let ourselves be an excuse for not doing God’s work. It’s not our strength that we should use anyway. Don’t let your inadequacies keep you chained to the pew.

Keep your eyes on God. True humility is not low self-esteem; it is about your focus. Focus on God and you won’t even notice how inadequate you are.

Categories: Christian
  1. May 14, 2007 at 9:18 am

    I agree with you.and feel I must grow by giving everything to God or I will whither and die. I backslid and wasted enough time. God helped the Israelites when they went into Canaan and said the enemy were very big and we are small.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment